Untitled Document
  • Office: 306 Pavilion
  • Phone: 412-648-9941
  • Fax: 412-648-1664
  • Email: wex6@pitt.edu

Wen Xie (MD, PhD) is Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacology, Director of the Center for Pharmacogenetics, and Joseph Koslow Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences. Dr. Xie obtained his MD degree from Peking University Health Science Center in 1991, and PhD in Cell Biology from University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1997. He completed a postdoctoral fellowship with Dr. Ronald M. Evans at the Salk Institute in La Jolla, California before joining the University of Pittsburgh in 2002. Dr. Xie holds a secondary appointment at the Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology at the School of Medicine. The research focus of Dr. Xie's laboratory is nuclear receptor-mediated transcriptional regulation of genes that encode drug metabolizing enzymes and drug transporters. In addition to metabolizing drugs, the same enzyme and transporter systems are also responsible for the homeostasis of numerous endobiotic molecules. Therefore, this regulation has broad implications in drug metabolism and many human diseases, including hepatobiliary diseases, endocrine disorders, metabolic syndrome, and cancers. Dr. Xie’s research is conducted using a combination of cell cultures and genetically engineered mice that include transgenic, knockout and humanized mice. Dr. Xie is the author or coauthor of more than 140 journal articles and book chapters and he has delivered over 150 invited lectures at conferences and universities. Dr. Xie is the editor of "Nuclear Receptors in Drug Metabolism", a book published by Wiley in 2008. Dr. Xie has served as ad hoc reviewer for NIH and DOD Study Sections and for over 90 scientific journals. Among his achievements, Dr. Xie is the recipient of the University of Pittsburgh Chancellor’s Distinguished Research Award (2008), the James R. Gillette International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics (ISSX) North American New Investigator Award (2008), the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) Division for Drug Metabolism Early Career Achievement Award (2009), and the Joseph Koslow Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Sciences (2012).