School of Pharmacy Dean Search

Dear School of Pharmacy Community Members,

I am very pleased to report that the search committee has concluded its work and presented a list of candidates for Dr. Shekhar’s consideration. We feel that all of the candidates are quite strong and are excited about the future of the School.

The final round of the search, which will be orchestrated by Dr. Shekhar's office, will take several months. I anticipate that the announcement about the outcome will be made in the early summer.


Steve Reis
Chair, Dean’s Search Committee for the School of Pharmacy

Search Committee Virtual Town Halls

Dean Patricia Kroboth will be stepping down after 20 years of service to the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy in June. Learn more about how the school has grown to new heights under her tenure in the September announcement to the Health Sciences community.

Committee members are pleased to announce one remaining open virtual meeting to support the search for a new dean of PittPharmacy. All are welcome to participate; representatives from the search firm Isaacson, Miller will join.

Questions and comments will be solicited in real time. For anyone unable to participate, the committee welcomes advanced submissions via email to committee support Molly Powers (, to be read during the event. The meeting will be recorded and made available for subsequent viewing by University of Pittsburgh affiliates.

Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2021 at noon EST

View recording of meeting.

Friday, Dec. 17, 2021 at 3 PM EST

View recording of meeting.

View position profile

View the January Update from Search Committee Chair
View the February Update from Search Committee Chair

Contact Molly Powers ( for more information.

Questions for Candidates

Please click here, If you would like to post an anonymous question for our candidates.


Susan Jones (December 2, 2021). Committee hopes to have new pharmacy dean by April - University Times

Committee Members

Steven E. Reis, MD
Chair, School of Pharmacy Dean Search Committee
Associate Senior Vice Chancellor for Clinical and Translational Research, Health Sciences
Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine

Maria F. Arlia, P2 Student
School of Pharmacy, Class of 2024
UPMC Presbyterian, Pharmacy Intern
Blue and Gold Society, Student Ambassador

Marcia Borrelli
Director, John P. and Constance A. Curran Student Center

Mario C. Browne, MPH, CHES, CDP
Associate Dean for Equity, Engagement, & Justice
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacy & Therapeutics
Co-Chair, Community Research Advisory Board
Center for Health Equity, Pitt Public Health

Jacob Cuyler, Third-Year Graduate Student
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Center for Computational Chemical Genomics Screening (CCGS) Student Chair
CCGS Student Chair

Philip Empey, PharmD, PhD
Director, Pharmacogenomics Center of Excellence
Associate Director, Institute for Precision Medicine
Associate Professor, Pharmacy and Therapeutics
Center for Clinical Pharmaceutical Sciences
Clinical and Translational Science Institute

Christian A. Fernandez, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pharmaceutical Sciences
Center for Pharmacogenetics

Sandra Kane-Gill, PharmD, MSc, FCCM, FCCP
Professor, Pharmacy and Therapeutics
Critical Care Medicine, Biomedical Informatics and Clinical and Translational Science Institute
Critical Care Medication Safety Pharmacist, UPMC, Department of Pharmacy
Faculty, Center for Critical Care Nephrology
President-elect, Society of Critical Care Medicine

Al L’Altrelli, PharmD
Senior Director of Pharmacy, UPMC Presbyterian, UPMC Shadyside and UPMC Montefiore
Director, UPMC Pharmacy Investigational Drug Services
Director, Pharmacy Administrative Fellowship
Director, HSPAL Residency Program
Adjunct Professor, Pharmacy and Therapeutics

Chronis Manolis, RPh
Senior Vice President, Pharmacy Services
Chief Pharmacy Officer, UPMC Health Plan

Lucy Russell, JD
Vice Provost and Chief of Staff, University of Pittsburgh

Mark Schmidhofer, MS, MD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Coronary Intensive Care Unit, UPMC Presbyterian
Chair, UPMC-Presbyterian Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee
Chair, UPM- Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee
Director, UPMC Pharmacy Service Center

Herb Shear, MBA
Chairman, Shear Family Office

Karen Steinmetz Pater, PharmD, CDCES, BCACP
Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy

Gordon Vanscoy, PharmD, MBA, CACP, BSPHR
Adjunct Associate Professor, Pharmacy and Therapeutics
CEO & Founding Chairman, RareMed Solutions
Executive Advisor, PANTHERx Specialty Pharmacy
UPMC Children’s Hospital

Ashley Yarabinec, PharmD, BCGP
Associate Director of Experiential Learning
Assistant Professor, Pharmacy & Therapeutics

Ex Officio Members

William J. Madden, MS, CPA
Vice Chancellor for Finance & Administration, Health Sciences
Vice Dean, Administration, School of Medicine

Leeanna McKibben, MSN, RN, CENP
Chief of Staff, Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor for the Health Sciences

Search Firm Contact Information

Ariannah Mirick

Randi Alberry

Kristen Andersen

Support Contacts

Molly Powers
Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor for the Health Sciences

Joanna Spontak
Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor for the Health Sciences