Faculty News

News & Publications

Faculty News

Friday, February 2, 2024
Edward T. Horn, PharmD, has been appointed as Associate Director of Cardiac Transplantation in the UPMC Advanced Heart Failure Program.

Horn has served as a clinical pharmacist in cardiac transplant and mechanical circulatory support since 2018 and will continue to support the Artificial Heart Program. Horn is recognized as an…

Wednesday, November 11, 2023
Step Out to Stop Diabetes is the American Diabetes Association’s Premier Walk

Nearly half of all American adults have diabetes or prediabetes.

Over 37 million people in the US have diabetes. About 96 million American adults have prediabetes.

Every year, 1.4 million…

Wednesday, March 3, 2023
Pitt Pharmacy Good as (Blue and) Gold in Student Award Season

Pitt Pharmacy students have earned several prestigious academic and competitive awards during the Spring 2023 semester.

Two third-year students received grants, and three third-year…

Thursday, February 2, 2023
The University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy was selected to become the next Certara Academic Center of Excellence

The purpose of the Academic Centers for Excellence is to partner with premier academic institutions to educate the next generation of scientists and solve pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic (PK/PD)…

Tuesday, December 12, 2022
Berenbrok Selected as Recipient of 2023 Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award

Lucas Berenbrok, PharmD, MS, BCACP, TTS, was recently announced as the 2023 recipient of the Albert B. Prescott Pharmacy Leadership Award. This national award recognizes an early-career…

Friday, December 12, 2022
Johnson Receives Clinical Practice Award, Elected Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy

Pitt Pharmacy faculty member Heather Johnson, PharmD, BCPS, was recognized by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) earlier this fall when she was awarded with a Clinical Practice Award…

Monday, October 10, 2022
Carroll Receives Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award from PPA

Joni Carroll, PharmD ('15), BCACP, TTS received the 2022 Pharmacist Mutual Insurance Company "Distinguished Young Pharmacist" Award at the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association's (PPA) 2022 Annual…

Monday, September 9, 2022
Suh Receives Grant from Alkermes

Kangho Suh, PharmD, PhD, received a grant from the Alkermes Pathways Research Awards® for his proposal titled "Assessing the comparative and cost-effectiveness of second-generation antipsychotics…

Monday, August 8, 2022
Donihi Contributes to Developing Guidelines, Serves as Panelist at ENDO 2022

For the past three years Amy C.

Monday, August 8, 2022
Connor Elected Chair of AACP Special Interest Group

Sharon Connor, PharmD, was elected as Chair of the Public Health Special Interest Group (SIG) of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). She will serve as Chair through July 2023…

Saturday, July 7, 2022
Nolin Elected Treasurer of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology

Thomas D. Nolin, PharmD (’99), PhD (’03), has been elected Treasurer of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology (ACCP). He will serve a two-year term beginning in September 2022. As…

Thursday, July 7, 2022
Suh Receives New Investigator Award